Reviews

Reviews


We would love a review from you, send it via mail or Post it on our aqua-ventura facebook & we will paste it.  

What a SUPERB experience! We have just come returned from a week-long Family Activity Holiday  with Jon and Violeta at their beautiful property in the Algarve. It is hard to put into words what made this vacation so blissful, it was really a holiday of highlights - comfortable accommodation in beautifully crafted bungalows, stunning forested property that is like an adventure playground for the kids, delicious food made with fresh produce, exciting activities everyday that were expertly guided and suited various abilities and energy levels, all delivered by a  warm, generous family. Truly this was an unforgettable holiday.
Jon and Vio, the level of detail you give to planning and caring for your guests is superb. We had a wonderful experience and felt thoroughly relaxed and energised by the end of the week. We are very much looking foward to our next visit- which we are already planning!
Collen Caney, 12 April 2017

We just had our small unique wedding at Aqua-Venture and it was absolutely AMAZING, ( I believe it was the first wedding they have ever entertained at Aqua-Venture) the owners Violeta and Jonny delivered everything we asked for and MORE! We hadn’t visited Aqua-Venture before booking our wedding there however Violeta was so helpful communicating online( sending ideas and pictures etc) I trusted her 100% that our wedding day would turn out perfect & it did. All our guests stayed there with us and everyone’s comments were
“ A WEDDING THEY WILL NEVER FORGET”..
The food was absolutely out of this world, it was incredible; we can’t thank Violeta and her lovely family enough!
We just can’t wait to revisit on our first anniversary next year!!
Thank you again it was absolutely perfect!
Adam and Phoebe xxx, June 2017

Half a dozen visits to Aqua-Ventura, I can say that I have never had a trip that was anything but brilliant. Fantastic walking, superb water sports, and the accommodation on the farm is out of this world. On top of all that Jon and Vio are wonderful helpful hosts and the food is to die for.
 Mick Canning High Hopes leader, September 2017


Thanks a lot for a great week at your wonderful farm with delicious food, perfect climbing lessons, unforgettable experiences and a lot of input and love. I can recommend this place to everyone who really wants to have a break from home. All the best, Lisa
Lisa Bauer, May 2017

I wasn’t sure quite what to expect when I agreed to go on holiday with my family (incl. 3 younger brothers) at nearly 21 years old but I can 100% say that it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I know that very few 17/18+ year old's would ever consider a holiday with their parents but this place is something else entirely. For the first time in years I was able to entirely forget about exams/university and just relax. The activities, the food, the location… Everything was amazing and the chilled atmosphere allowed me to be a part of both the ‘adult group’ and also to just be a kid again. Jonny, Vio & their team were amazing and I cannot thank them enough for an absolutely fantastic week!
Lydia Fasey, September 2017


Portugal and especially Aqua-Ventura is a very addictive place. We went on great bike rides, we found amazing DWS spots (deep-water-soloing) and tried  surfing for the first time. <3 :-) The coastline is so wild and beautiful and Aqua-Ventura is the perfect spot for adventure and excitement but you will also find a beautiful, peaceful place with fantastic people and extraordinary, exquisite food.
Thank you very much for a lovely holiday we will never forget.
Bettina Schoepf Swedish climbing group, 5 March 2017


Brilliant accommodation, really amazing food & excellent climbing with Jon
Phil & Karina 7 day sport sport climbing course, May 2017

Jonny and Violeta, thanks so much for a lovely holiday, trying to pretend we are still on holiday back at home :) I loved the quiet, and the relaxed pace of activities, you always seemed to just know what we'd like to do and for how long. Thomas so enjoyed the company of your lovely children and is already asking when we can come back. We will see you again for sure.
The Berries x Alison Molyneux Berry

We had a great time with Violletta and Jonny in their wonderful cottage. They were the most perfect hosts and we felt so welcome that we extended our stay until we really had to leave. The wonderful breakfasts and dinners, the stimulating discussions and the interesting people we met, made our stay unforgettable. The surroundings of the location are just amazing and we went cycling, hiking and swimming in totally unspoilt nature.
We are coming back!
Chris Einthoven

This was our 5th time staying with Jon and Violetta and their son and daughter, 3 times when in Spain and twice in Portugal. As always the hospitality shown to us was first class, we had a great range of activities from cycling to walking to body boarding. Violetta's cooking on it's own is worth the trip.
The location is an brilliant for those who love nature.
We cant wait to return again .
Brian and the gang from the Comeragh mountaineering Club in Ireland.
Brian Jacob

If you want a beach holiday where the most activity you get is turning over on your towel, this is NOT the holiday for you! If you DO like to share laughs & have fun with your family with Jonny, doing stuff like climbing,cycling,kayaking & falling off surfboards, then come back to eat Vio's amazing food & relax in your own lovely cottage, then THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY!
Jonny's homemade pizzas aren't half bad either….!
Claire Pedder

Our family had an amazing adventure in southern Portugal. We biked, kayaked, surfed, rock climbed, swam and traveled all over the southwestern part of the Algarve. The food was amazing and the host family was delightful. I highly recommend aqua ventura for an active family who wants to have fun, try new things, and learn about a different part of the world from knowledgeable hosts.
By the end of the week you will feel like part of the family and be plotting your return.
Susannah Washburn, September 2017


Aqua-Ventura offers whimsical, wild, rest and adventure. Choose your own style or experience it all. We have enjoyed the beach, the hikes, kayaking, the  food the company, with Aqua-Ventures on three trips and plan to go back again. Always an adventure with something new to see, learn and experience every time we go.
Karen Lynn Williams


Have stayed with them 3 times….Would recommend to friends without hesitation. Very friendly couple, amazing food & great for relaxing and sports. 
Yassi GH 26 May 2016

I would recommend  Aqua-Venture to anyone looking for adventure, fun and a professional setup in a spectacular part of the world. I have been and will be back for many years to come.. Thank you Aqua-Venture.
October 2016 Sean Rice

Beautiful place filled with endless excitement and dear friends. A place to make memories.
Max Wheatley 11 May 2016


If you are looking for a place to be like in the Paradise, you have find it! Cycling, surfing, kayaking, and more, in a lovely place. Thanks Violeta, John, adn family!!!! See you soon again!!!
Alejandro Carretero Luna Spain


The place Jon and Vio created is magical. The farm located in the hills near Sagres is a fantastic and beautiful place. Always had good times and their kids are super cool! A very warm family, feels like my own family! I am looking forward to coming back soon. Greetings from Berlin.
Marcel Jay, May 2016

When we booked our one week climbing holiday at Aqua-Ventura we had no idea what to expect. But even our biggest expectations would have been outreached by what we found at this wonderful place...beautiful nature, lovely accommodation, gorgeous food, great climbing but most of all friendly, kind-hearted, amazing people who made this week an unforgettable and inspiring experience we will never forget. Thank you John & Vio!!
7 day introduction climbing course
Lea Nyx, 6 October 2016

All star, 5 star,,,always. It’s never quite the same, it just gets better. The details shine as much as the sunshine. I can think of no better place to relax and be in great company or perfect solitude in the cabins. Beautiful family. 
Willow Grace, June 2016

Thank you so much for a fun filled wee, meeting new friends, taking on new challenges and eating delicious food. It was amazing from start to finish and a huge thank you to you and your team for making it so special.
Keep having fun - stay well - and we hope to see you again.
The Caseys, 12 August 2016

I have stayed with Jon and Vio on numerous occasions. If you are looking for a place full of adventure, excitement, good food and beautiful landscapes, then stay here on this unique farm where you will be welcomed into the family. Certainly a place and time never to be forgotten.
Melissa Rachael Dwyer, November 2015

Jono and Vio have set up a loverly finca in the Algarve. I’ve visited once and went on some superb walks and bike rides, mainly along the coast which is stunning. I loved their place in Spain, but the coastline in the Algarve is wild and beautiful. I can’t recommend it enough. They are running a casting workshop this November( 2016) which I think will be a great opportunity to learn a new skill but also to enjoy the farmstead, the food,
the friendship and the coastline.
Julia Cowie, April 2016

I have been visiting Jonny and Vio since they first set up Aqua.ventura in Spain. After a few solo visits, I started to take my scout group to them for some foreign adventure. In a very short time they became good friends, who I have trusted with my own children as well as my scouts. I have returned many times since they relocated to Portugal and helped Jonny recce some of the mountain bike trails.
The farm is remote and the trade office in the simpler way of living.
But the welcomes warm, the food is amazing and the activities spectacular.
Neil Hallam, November 2016

We had a fantastic stay in the African Nature Cottage. It's a remote place, away from day to day life in a beautiful forest. The smell of the forest is great and just the sound of nature and nothing else. Plenty of activities in the surroundings. Violeta and Jonathan are great hosts, made us feel very welcome. Thanks, if we come back to the Algarve we hope we can stay here again!
Anton

The BEST! I read every review, researched every option, stop searching this is the best. John and Violeta’s place is a small slice of heaven! It’s beautiful, is an understatement. I actually told my husband, I’ve never seen this many stars in all my life - amazing. Breakfast was delicious! J + V made great recommendations for us everyday. We loved the interaction with other guests. We beach hopped all over the Algarve from their place and it was easy. Perfect, stop now and book it!
Lauren

Such a wonderful place. If you like rustic, off grid charm in an utterly beautiful and secluded area really near to some amazing surfing beaches with friendly and helpful hosts then this is the place. We were only sad we didn't book it for longer. The daily morning welcome from the dogs was also top notch!
Aletia

Cet endroit est un petit paradis!! Nous avons été accueillis comme des membres de la famille par Violeta, Jonathan, leurs enfants et leurs animaux (2 chiens et 4 chats affectueux) L'endroit est zen, isolé et tranquille, mais tout près d'une multitude de plages magnifiques (à moins de 30 minutes). Le site est autosuffisant et écologique (énergie solaire). La maison commune est coquette et confortable avec sa grande terrasse et sa cuisine commune est super bien équipée. Notre chambre (African Nature Cottage) était super propre et très confortable. Et la douche africaine est un must!! Si nous retournons au Portugal, nous y reviendrons pour un plus long séjour (3 jours, ce n'était vraiment pas assez!) afin de pouvoir revoir ces gens super sympathiques et profiter davantage de ce site exceptionnel.
Catherine

Notre séjour chez Jon et Violeta s'est très bien passé. Le cadre est magnifique, les maisonnettes sont soignées et joliment aménagées. Les enfants (3 et 1 an) se sont très vite sentis à l'aise avec nos hôtes. Nous avons apprécié particulièrement la douche africaine extérieure, les hamacs et le fait de pouvoir cuisiner dans 2 cuisines communes bien équipées.
Gerda

Violeta and Jonathan created a little paradise in this place, we enjoyed our stay a lot. Everybody (and every animal) were so friendly and kind! We stayed at the treehouse, which was even better that what we expected, in the middle of nature, very clean and comfortable. Also breakfast and dinner were quite tasty. All in all we can definitely recommend it, must be one of the best BnBs we ever stayed at!
Alexander

This is a perfect place to disconnect and get close to the nature. We love the surroundings and the quietness. This is a very special place and Violeta and Jonathan and their children are amazing - they have a very forthcoming attitude and are very helpful.
Hannah And Sebastian

Violeta and Johnny have built a very special place from the ground up in the most beautiful location. Our family has been traveling through Spain and Portugal for the last month and our stay with them was a highlight for us all--the lake, the swings, the outdoor shower!!! Breakfast each day was delicious and we were fortunate enough to have dinner there one night. The most beautiful beaches are only a short drive and Johnny and Violeta are full of helpful suggestions. What a treat it is to return to their property after a day on the beach and take a shower looking out at the trees and valley. They make you feel at home, and what a lovely home it is!
Vanessa

Absolutely lovely place to relax and enjoy nature, close by beaches, hiking, biking, friendly people and life in general. Hosts are super helpful and lovely people. Laid-back atmosphere. We stayed 5 days but easily could have stayed longer. Unique place!
Rami

It was a perfect week at Violetas place. The room was tidy and studded with lovely details, just beautiful. There were lots of possibilities to relax and for having fun (the lake, the swings, the hammocks - just a lot to discover). One highlight is the real the real nature experience (you may get even surprised by a little bat in your room :-)). Violeta and her family welcomed us open-minded and open-hearted. To meet Violeta, her family and their way of life was a great pleasure!
Eva
Share by: